Contact Us: 1-641-209-1899 or 1-800-376-7155

Gluten-Free Certification
HACCP Services
CERT ID Certification
SQF Food Safety
     SQF Benefits
     SQF How To
     SQF FAQ
     SQF Audit Duration
     SQF Cost
     SQF With CERT ID
BRC Food Safety
BRC Issue 7 Reguirements
Costco Audit
BRC Storage / Distribution
Non-GMO Certification
ProTerra Certification

About SQF and GFSI

GFSI Benchmarked and Farm to Fork Food Safety

Request your Complimentary White Paper "Preparing for SQF Certification"

The Safe Quality Foods Program (SQF) is recognized by retailers and food service providers around the world that require a rigorous, credible food safety management system.  It was launched in Australia in 1994. Since 2004, it has been administered by the SQF Institute, a division of the Food Marketing Institute, headquartered in Arlington, Virginia. Thousands of companies in North and South America, Europe, the Middle East, and in Asia have received SQF certification.

On July 1, 2014, the SQF Code, Ed 7.2 was introduced. The SQF Code Level 2 and 3 are GFSI benchmarked. Each code is divided into 3 levels of certification, indicating the level of development of a supplier’s safety and quality systems. The three levels allow the opportunity for continuous improvement and for all sizes of companies to participate. SQF Level 2 and SQF Level 3 are benchmarked food safety standards to the GFSI requirements (see below). GFSI benchmarked standards are recognized worldwide and accepted, recommended and required by some of the largest international retailing groups.

In increasing numbers, major North American retailers are requiring food safety certification from their suppliers. SQF certification meets these requirements, providing assurance that a product, process or service complies with regulatory, international and scientifically proven standards for safety. In addition to its focus on food safety, SQF allows suppliers to demonstrate their excellence in adhering to the highest quality standards of preparation, processing and handling.

The Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) is a collaboration of the world’s leading food safety experts representing a broad range of participants in the supply chain, from primary producer to retailer. Launched in May of 2000, this international initiative engaged in a benchmarking process to establish the key components necessary for good food safety standards, and the operating protocols for the delivery of third party certification. GFSI promotes continuous improvement in food safety management systems to ensure the delivery of safe food to consumers.

Contact us to learn how you can achieve SQF certification or for answers about GFSI
(Global Food Safety Initiative):